Classification by themes

Classification by themes :

  • High Fantasy

Here the imaginary world is the only one that exists. (For examples : J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones, Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time.) ;

  • Low Fantasy

Low fantasy combines real world and imaginary world, the two are often connected by a passage. In this, this subgenre is closer to the fantastic. (For examples : C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia, or J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter.)

  • Heroic Fantasy

This subgenre includes works of this kind that set the action in a medieval setting. (For examples : as mentioned above J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings ; Eragon by Christopher Paolini);

  • Urban Fantasy

A subgenre where legendary, fairytale or mythological creatures live in an urban world, with technologies that can vary from the late 19th century to today. Most often these works are between the middle of the 20th century and the 21st century. The main thing to remember is that in this universe, the urban is at the center. The universe familiar to Man, created by himself, who will be confronted more or less suddenly with supernatural creatures. The supernatural will burst into the so-called civilized world we know. A genre that uses fantastic influences (by the supernatural) and fantasy (by its magic, its quirky universe, its fantastic and supernatural creatures.) (For example : The Pan Labyrinth by Guillermo del Toro.)

Other possible subgenres :

Many other forms of Fantasy exist by theme with for example Animal Fantasy, or Oriental.